What to Do After You’re Injured at Work
Notify Your Employer
This is the first step in filing a workers’ compensation claim. A verbal notification is enough, but it is recommended that you submit a written notification, as well. Remember that you are required to report the incident to your employer within 90 days of the accident or you lose the right to file for workers’ compensation. Note all the relevant details of the incident, including when and where it occurred and what you were doing when your injury was sustained in the verbal or written notification.
Seek Medical Attention As Soon As Possible
It is important that you seek medical care as quickly as possible. If it’s an emergency, you do not require authorization from your employer to seek medical attention. If it’s not an emergency, it is important to inform them and obtain authorization to receive medical treatment if you wish to receive your full compensation claim. Remember to keep all records, receipts, and prescriptions given to you by your doctor.
Check the Status of Your Claim
Your employer is required by law to file a First Report of Injury form with the New Jersey Division of Workers’ Compensation within 21 days of your notification. You can follow up on the status of your claim there, as well as with your employer.
Start Receiving Your Benefits
If the claim has been filed and approved, you are then eligible to receive workers’ compensation benefits which include your employer or their insurance provider covering all your medical bills (and transportation costs), as well as the wage-loss benefits for which you qualify.
Get Legal Help
If the claim has not been filed, your employer denied your claim or you disagree with the workers’ compensation benefits received, it’s important to contact a skilled workers’ compensation attorney for help. They will then guide you through the process of lodging a formal Claim Petition or Application for an Informal Hearing.
Contact a Trenton Workers’ Compensation Lawyer to Discuss Your New Jersey Workplace Injury Case
A workplace injury can be devastating, particularly if it prevents you from returning to work for an extended period of time. Although New Jersey Workers’ Compensation laws are supposed to provide you with reimbursement for medical expenses and replacement pay for missed time at work, it is not always easy to get the Workers’ Comp benefits you deserve. That is why you should speak with a knowledgeable Workers’ Compensation lawyer about your situation and get guidance throughout the claims process. The experienced Workers’ Compensation attorneys at Kalavruzos, Mumola, Hartman, Lento & Duff, LLC represent clients in Princeton, Hamilton, Trenton, Eatontown and all across New Jersey. Call (609) 853-5579 or fill out our online contact form today to schedule a consultation about your work injury case. Our main office is located at 2681 Quakerbridge Rd Trenton NJ 08619.
The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.