Trenton Shoplifting Lawyers
Dedicated Shoplifting Lawyers Work to Protect Clients Rights in Mercer County and Throughout New Jersey
Shoplifting is considered one of the lesser crimes in New Jersey, but it can still have some nasty legal consequences. If you have been charged with shoplifting, you don’t have to face the potential penalties alone. With the help of an experienced lawyer, you can seek to have your criminal charges dropped or reduced.
Having a skilled criminal defense lawyer is essential if you wish to fight your shoplifting charges. If you or a loved one have been charged with shoplifting in New Jersey, don’t take chances. Contact the experienced Trenton Shoplifting Lawyers at Kalavruzos, Mumola, Hartman, Lento & Duff, LLC for the right legal advice.
Shoplifting Legal Basics
Shoplifting is the act of taking merchandise or goods from a store without paying for them. It can take many forms such as taking an item that can fit in your pocket to sneaking out larger items of high value. According to the New Jersey Statutes- Section 2C:20-11, shoplifting may include:
- Taking an item without the seller’s knowledge or consent: a person must obscure the item taken such that it may not be visible through ordinary observation. Usually, the person will have failed to pay for the purchase price of the item.
- Consciously taking an item meant for sale at a place of retail: this is taking an item with an intention to deprive the seller of it permanently.
- Transfer of goods to another container: the goods must be transferred with intent to steal
- Under-ringing of goods: the cash register or payment method has to be manipulated to reflect a value less than the full price of the item
It’s worth noting that one may face shoplifting charges even if they never took the goods out of the store. If it is proven that you had the intention to carry the item out of the store without paying the full price, you will be charged. If you face shoplifting charges in New Jersey, you will need the help of an experienced lawyer from the Kalavruzos, Mumola, Hartman, Lento & Duff, LLC to come up with the right defenses for your shoplifting charges.
Grading and Penalties for Shoplifting Charges in New Jersey
Just like in any other state, shoplifting offenses in New Jersey are classified into different degrees. The penalties imposed for shoplifting charges vary depending on the degree of the offense. These degrees include:
- Second-degree crime: The alleged stolen merchandise is between $75,000 and more. You may be charged with a Class C felony, face a jail term of not more than 5 years, and a fine of not more than $150,000, or both.
- Third-degree crime: The amount of merchandise shoplifted must be more than $500 but not exceeding $75,000. In such a case, you may be charged with a misdemeanor, face a jail term of less than 5 years, and a fine of up to $15,000, or both.
- Fourth-degree crime: The amount of merchandise stolen must be between $200 and $500. The jail term may be up to one year, a fine not exceeding $10,000, or both
- Disorderly persons offense: The allegedly stolen goods should be less than $200. The jail term should not exceed six months, and a fine not exceeding $1,000, or both.
Additionally, in addition to the fines or penalties, one may be required to reimburse whatever they stole in full value and risk being banned from the store.
How To Beat Your Shoplifting Charges
If you have been arrested for shoplifting, the first thought would be how to go about the legal process. To help ease or do away with any legal repercussion, it would help to work with an experienced defense lawyer. Some of the most common shoplifting defenses include:
- There was no intent to shoplift: it was an accident and you forgot to pay for the merchandise
- Testimony from credible witnesses: credible witnesses could potentially prove that you were a mistaken identity
- Right of property: you took the merchandise honestly and believed it was legally yours
To apply the above or any other shoplifting defenses, it’s of the utmost importance to have a skilled lawyer determine the right defense that can be used for your unique circumstance. There are a number of pitfalls surrounding legal defense; if not used properly, a shoplifter may not avoid conviction.
If you’ve been charged with shoplifting, call Kalavruzos, Mumola, Hartman, Lento & Duff, LLC today, and get the best defense to protect yourself against conviction.
Contact Our Dedicated Shoplifting Charges Legal Team in New Jersey
Anyone facing shoplifting charges needs a dedicated lawyer. If convicted in New Jersey the chances are that this will appear on your criminal record. A criminal record could have a negative impact on your entire life including the inability to find employment, lack of loans for higher education courses, etc. However, there are ways you can mitigate any harsh outcome of a shoplifting charge, such as filing a motion with the help of an experienced attorney. Contact the law office of Kalavruzos, Mumola, Hartman, Lento & Duff, LLC today to fight your New Jersey shoplifting charges with a skilled legal team you can trust.
Frequently Asked Questions About Shoplifting Charges
Ideally, it is better to avoid self-representation because it is full of uncertainties. It is always advisable to have a lawyer who understands the ins and outs of shoplifting charges, and who can help you with the paperwork. If you’re facing shoplifting charges in New Jersey, contact the Kalavruzos, Mumola, Hartman, Lento & Duff, LLC legal team, and have them evaluate your case for free.
Shoplifting can either be charged as a misdemeanor or felony. This means that the statute of limitations will depend on the value of the good in question. At Kalavruzos, Mumola, Hartman, Lento & Duff, LLC our qualified lawyers can guide you on how to take advantage of any statute of limitations depending on the unique circumstances surrounding your case.